July 21, 2023 ~ School Chromebook

I recently got sent a Chromebook for school, alongside a school-specific gmail account! It's pretty neat since I've never had a Chromebook before, but also, ChromeOS INFURIATES ME. Just a little, that is ;-;

Like,, what do you mean I can't use exe files natively? What do you mean I can't put folders on the desktop?? it's so strange to me! I'm used to Windows, and I'm decently comfortable with macOS, but THIS??? even if I didn't have to deal with the administrator blocks, it'd still confuse me 😭

Another thing very irritating thing is that my school blocked EVERY. SINGLE. THEME. I'm fine using the color themes built into Chrome, but it's very annoying. Plus, I can't even use Incognito windows???? I hate that. I was able to put uBlock Origin on it, though, so that's good, I guess? I know there are ways to remove the administration, but I don't want to break it by accident 💀 I refuse to do any major messing-around with it, I don't wanna have to deal with the (hypothetical) consequences. Still, I do find the ability to open websites as their own apps pretty neat, I guess.

Maybe I'm just not used to Chrome as a browser? but either way, this operating system is driving me insane 😭 It's very confusing to me, and half the time, it looks like it's supposed to be a tablet moreso than a laptop (and yet, this is not the kind with a touchscreen).

In any case, this is less a full blog post and more a vent? Or something? Idk how the whole "blog" thing works in the first place, but you know what I mean. In any case, I know I've been gone for a bit, but thanks for sticking around :D